It’s been too long since I posted! Life has been busy, and for a while, I lost a bit of my cooking passion. This summer and early fall I’ve been working hard to get my health on track and cleaning up my diet is a big part of that. I’ve learned a lot about my own body and how it reacts to different foods, and how I can nourish not only my body but my mind and soul through cooking.

Right now, the best things for me seems to be beans and fall vegetables. I adapted this recipe from a salad that I pinned a while back. Raw roughage has been a challenge for me, so I made this into a tasty sauté.

IMG_0466.JPG

Butternut squash is a fall gem! I can’t stop roasting things right now.

IMG_0465.JPG

Fresh organic kale came in my Brewers Organics box this week – perfect timing.

IMG_0464.JPG

It seems decadent – even though it’s full of great, healthy stuff!

Butternut Squash Sauté – 4 servings

1 butternut squash, peeled, seeded & cubed
3 tbsp. olive oil
Salt & pepper to taste
1 sm. sweet onion, chopped
1 can black beans
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 bunch fresh kale, chopped
2 tbsp. spicy mustard
2 tbsp. honey
4 tbsp. goat cheese

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Place cubed squash on a baking dish; drizzle with 1 tbsp. olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste. Roast for 40 minutes, tossing after 20.

In a large sauté pan or wok, heat 2 tbsp. olive oil over medium-high heat. Sauté onion and garlic about 4 minutes or until soft. Add beans and kale and sauté until kale is wilted. Add roasted squash, mustard and honey; mix well and remove from heat.

Garnish with a sprinkle of goat cheese and eat warm.

