It’s hot in Wisconsin. Since we only get about 8 days of this per year, I refuse to complain, rather let my taste buds tell me what they need: cool, crisp, easy meals that don’t require turning on the oven. Chicken salad is one of those easy summer comfort foods that seems like such a treat, yet it’s so easy. Here’s a nice little recipe for the dog days…

20130708-185346.jpg

2/3 c. Miracle Whip
1/3 c. Buttermilk
1/2 lemon, juiced
1 tsp. dried tarragon
2 cans chicken (I prefer white meat only)
1 c. Wild rice, prepared as package instructs
1 bunch green onions, chopped
1 sm. can sliced water chestnuts, drained
Salt & pepper
1-2 c. Green grapes, cut in half
Cashews to garnish
Arugula

In a small bowl, whisk Miracle Whip, buttermilk, lemon and tarragon to make dressing. In a large bowl, mix together chicken, rice, onions, water chestnuts, grapes and salt and pepper to taste. Fold in dressing and let sit in fridge at least a couple of hours. Serve on a bed of arugula with some crushed cashews to garnish (I like salted for a nice contrast to the sweet grapes and creamy salad).

I also throw some of this in a Tupperware to take to work – great quick lunch.

