"Mac Daddy" Macaroons

Rocket Baby Bakery http://rocketbabybakery.com/ moved into my neighborhood this year and I’ll be frank, I just can’t get enough. I’m in there at least once a week, mostly because I love their lattes (they don’t have skim milk. You get whole. And it’s worth it.) and am addicted to the cranberry walnut bread for breakfast toast. It doesn’t hurt that they’re part of my favorite local organization, Local First Milwaukee.

This was a long week at work, and I didn’t have time to get anything made for my family reunion. My mom asked me to bring something sweet, so I decided to grab a box of macaroons on my way out of town. This is my first sample of this treat, and I was just as impressed as always. These little buggers are not only gorgeous to look at, but they melt in your mouth. I have no idea how you make them, and I probably won’t attempt to learn. Not when I can grab these any time I want. I was lucky enough to snag one of the green ones, which I think was pistachio, and it was amazing. My family loved them. And I just can’t get over how cute they are.

If you’re in the Wauwatosa area, you need to make a stop at 69th and North to take in some Rocket Baby goodness. I promise, it will be worth it. Next time I get a breakfast muffin with an egg baked in, I promise to tell you about it, but for now, I got my fix with macaroons.

