Today was the annual Lloyd family summer reunion at my folks’ house. The Lloyd’s are on my Mom’s side; Grandma Maxine Broege was a Lloyd before she married. Breakfast was a special treat this morning, as my mom pulled out some of Grandma’s recipes and made “Hash Quiche” for us. Grandma’s sister Marlene gave the recipe to her, and it was even more special to see the recipe in my grandma’s hand writing. I hold the cookbooks that I received after she died dear because of her little notes: “made for Faithful Followers” or “needs more milk.”

Hash Quiche

Hash Quiche

The hash quiche was excellent – cooked in a stoneware pie plate with crust made of corned beef hash and filled with veggies and eggs, this made for a satisfying, salty, delicious breakfast.

1 regular sized can corned beef hash

1 c. shredded swiss cheese

1 c. chopped celery

1 large white onion, chopped

2 eggs, beaten

1/2 c. milk

1/4 c. Bisquick

Combine the hash and 1 beaten egg. Press into a lightly greased baking dish or pie plate. Sprinkle onions, cheese and celery over hash. Mix remaining egg and Bisquick until quite smooth. Mix into milk and pour over top of the quiche. Bake at 325 degrees for about 1 hour.

I think this could be made into a nice gluten-free breakfast as well – maybe I’ll try it sometime soon. I’d substitute a bit of rice or tapioca flour for the Bisquick to bind everything, and if I was really going to town, I’d add tomatoes (or sun dried tomatoes) and mushrooms.

Here’s Grandma’s version:

20130622GrandmaBroege hash quiche recipe1

20130622GrandmaBroege hash quiche recipe2

